Software Archive
Read-only legacy content

Installation to Ubuntu 12.04: Platform not Supported?

matthew_s_6
Beginner

Hello all,

I have downloaded the Intel® Fortran Composer XE for Linux (l_fcompxe_ia32_2013.1.117) and am running Ubuntu 12.04 32 bit.  I have also tried the 64 bit version and the 2011 32 and 64 bit versions.  Upon attempting to install each of these, I have recieved the same message: 

"The package does not support the platform it being run on.  Please check to be sure the correct architecture of package has been downloaded."

I know that the 64 bit versions should not work on my 32 bit Ubuntu, but I tried them just to double check.  I have already conducted the following:

sudo apt-get install build-essential
apt-get install gcc-multilib
sudo apt-get install rpm
apt-get install openjdk-6-jre-headless

As well as:

$ sudo rm /bin/sh
$ sudo ln -s /bin/bash /bin/sh

I am a relative newbie to Linux and do not see any other references to such an error, so is there something that I am missing?  I desperately need this compiler for my thesis, so any help would be greatly appreciated!  Thank you!

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Kittur_G_Intel
Employee
Hi Mathew, Please see this Knowledge Base article for tips on installing the Intel Compilers for Ubuntu and Debian: http://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/using-intel-compilers-for-linux-with-ubuntu The above article should help. Let me know if you still have any furtther questions/clarifications. Regards, Kittur
0 Kudos
matthew_s_6
Beginner
Kittur - Thank you for your response. Unfortunately, I had already reviewed that article prior to posting and hence have run the relevant commands per instructions there, but still the problem persists. I cannot see any steps that I have not completed therein, particularly for Ubuntu 12.04. Again, any further advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you again! Matt
0 Kudos
Kittur_G_Intel
Employee