Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17060 Discussions

Tweet Controlled Something

Bertug_Berkay_Y_
Beginner

Hi guys,

I am a very new Edison user. I have some knowledge on Arduino. (Did some projects about robotics.) I have accomplished to flash the Edison and setup the Yocto on it. Configured it and connected to the Internet. I also managed to do some Arduino examples. Now I am at the IoT part. 

Basically how can I turn a led on or off with a tweet? Or with sending a mail or something? 

If I can do this, I will be able to do much much more for my projects. I kindly ask you to help me out. I will be waiting for your replies.

Bertug-

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Stewart_C_Intel
Employee

Check out this project, this monitors the twitterverse, and sends messages to a Bluetooth device, (the sphero). https://software.intel.com/en-us/updating-orbotix-sphero-in-response-to-tweets-edison

Its not exactly what you asked for but hopefully this helps.

Another example I found is on Instructables, http://www.instructables.com/id/Tweet-with-your-Intel-Edison/

Google is your friend..

0 Kudos
Bertug_Berkay_Y_
Beginner

Thanks for your reply Steward. I will look into the links. 

0 Kudos
Matthias_H_Intel
Employee
0 Kudos
Bertug_Berkay_Y_1

Thanks Matthias. 
I am looking into the second link which Stewart gave. I am trying to build a tweet controlled coffee machine using Edison. If I can I will be sharing.

0 Kudos
Bertug_Berkay_Y_
Beginner

It's been sometime but I still could not manage to control an output through Edison board. The examples I found on-line, usually doesn't support the Edison.

Do you have any idea how to control Edison's output from twitter time line?

0 Kudos
Stan_G_
Beginner

Best advise it to defocus on the whole thing and break it down into pieces.

From your description.....

1. Make a program that led turns a led on.