Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

Unity 5 RealSense SDK voice synthesiser crashes

Joe_C_3
Beginner

Hi all, I am attempting to get the Intel RealSense voice synthesiser to work but Unity 5 crashes on my almost every time i run my script. I have an i7-4790k, 8gb ram, gtx-960 and an ssd.

I have all of the correct DLLs installed for a 64bit environment.

This is the script I'm using to test the voice synth, keep in mind that I'm new to c# so I might have an error in my code, though I don't think this is the issue as the debugger isn't showing any.

using UnityEngine;
using System.Collections;
using RSUnityToolkit;
using System.Threading;

public static class Speaker
{
	public static void Speak()
	{
		PXCMSession session = PXCMSession.CreateInstance();

PXCMSpeechSynthesis tts;
		session.CreateImpl<PXCMSpeechSynthesis>(out tts);
		PXCMSpeechSynthesis.ProfileInfo pinfo;
		tts.QueryProfile(0,out pinfo);
		pinfo.language=PXCMSpeechSynthesis.LanguageType.LANGUAGE_US_ENGLISH;
		tts.SetProfile(pinfo);

tts.BuildSentence(1, "Speak this");

int nbuffers=tts.QueryBufferNum(1);

for (int i=0;i<nbuffers;i++) {
		   PXCMAudio audio=tts.QueryBuffer(1, i);
		}

tts.ReleaseSentence(1);
	}
};

public class Speech : MonoBehaviour {
	void Start () {
		Thread oThread = new Thread(new ThreadStart(Speaker.Speak));
		oThread.Start();
		while (!oThread.IsAlive);
		oThread.Abort();
	}
}

0 Kudos
17 Replies
Joe_C_3
Beginner

I was able to work around this by re-installing some drivers for my computer. Unity no longer seems to crash, however this line is no good:

as PXCMSession.CreateInstance is returning null and making the rest of the script fail.

0 Kudos
Joe_C_3
Beginner

Still dead in the water. The script plays no audio and Unity still crashes.