Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

error: tried to pass SEH exception c0000005 through a spawn

scott_g_
Beginner

I have a situation that developed trying to port a valid OpenMP application to Intel Cilk Plus (this is my first time using Cilk Plus).

I was getting the fatal error at runtime: "error: tried to pass SEH exception c0000005 through a spawn", sometimes two of them in a row.

I found that while I had Cilk For and Syncs implemented my queries for cpu counts and thread numbers were still OpenMP.
With OpenMP Support=Generate Parallel Code (/Qopenmp) set, if I (inappropriately) simply trade out the corresponding Cilk calls for OpenMP I can induce this error.  I suspect it's actually just the omp_get_thread_num() since that actually occurred in the worker. Of course if OpenMP support is disabled, the OpenMP calls are undefined and the problem goes away entirely.

#ifdef USEOPENMP
#define CPU_COUNT omp_get_num_procs();
#define CPU_THREAD_NUM omp_get_thread_num()
#endif
#ifdef USECILKPLUS
#define CPU_COUNT __cilkrts_get_nworkers()
#define CPU_THREAD_NUM __cilkrts_get_worker_number()
#endif

Interestingly, I'm not seeing an exact equivalent to omp_get_num_procs() for Cilk.  __cilkrts_get_nworkers() seems to be equivalent enough for me on the first call (avoiding hooking in unnecessary Windows calls here).

Thanks

-Scott

0 Kudos
14 Replies
Jim_S_Intel
Employee

Is the original code making assumptions about which threads a program executes on?   OpenMP and Cilk Plus programs have different philosophies and semantics about controlling the mapping of tasks to threads, and it is possible that it could affect the correctness of the ported code.     It is hard to say for sure without seeing code that reproduces the problem, but perhaps that might explain the problem?