Software Tuning, Performance Optimization & Platform Monitoring
Discussion regarding monitoring and software tuning methodologies, Performance Monitoring Unit (PMU) of Intel microprocessors, and platform updating.

Confusion about RDPMC, RDMSR and addresses

Silvia
Beginner

Hi,

I am confused about addresses for reading performance counters (Linux). Sorry if the questions are too basic, I'm fairly new to this! My CPU is an Intel Core i7-7500U (Kaby Lake). I am running it with hyper-threading disabled, and only one core. 

Program A, using RDMSR: I can read counters via a simple kernel module (written in c). I use inline assembly, I load ECX with address 30AH (this is IA32_FIXED_CTR1 which stores CPU_CLK_UNHALTED.CORE), then I use RDMSR, then I read EDX:EAX. This works.

Program B, using RDPMC: I want to read this counter as user, so I have set up the corresponding flag to allow for this by setting CR4.PCE = 1 (I do this indirectly by changing the flag created for perf events at /sys/devices/cpu/rdpmc to 2). After going through the forums I have found that the address for IA32_FIXED_CTR1 seems to be (1<<30) + 1, or 40000001H. This works. And here is where my confusion begins:

If I use RDPMC in program A and I try to read address 30AH, I get a general protection fault. If I try to read the address (1<<30)+1 with RDMSR in program A (kernel level) things go wrong too. Using RDPMC at user level with address 30AH doesn't work either. 

As I understand it  the instructions RDPMC and RDMSR are equivalent, only differences is their accessibility at user level. Section 2.1 Architectural SMRs of the Intel manual, vol.4 (page 2-3) reads "MSR address range between 40000000H - 400000FFH is marked as a specially reserved range". In the table that follows (2-2), the address to access cycles is marked as 30AH. I haven't found in the manual anything about referring to addresses  40000000H to 40000002H to access the fixed counters. My questions: