Software Tuning, Performance Optimization & Platform Monitoring
Discussion regarding monitoring and software tuning methodologies, Performance Monitoring Unit (PMU) of Intel microprocessors, and platform updating.

Does data from PCIe go into L1/L2 cache?

Kim__Chinam
Beginner

Hi community,

I am currently studying the memory architecture of SKYLAKE-SP, and happen to be stuck on explaining the system behavior when an application requests for data from a PCIe device. Unfortunately, I had no luck in finding related documentation that fully resolves my issue.

So my situation is this:

- I have a SKYLAKE-SP system, with an FPGA device connected via PCIe interface.

- The FPGA has a memory device inside, which is memory-mapped (with no_cache option) to a certain system address range.

- An application accesses data from this FPGA through BAR(Base Address Register) and an offset.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but as far as I know, the system follows the steps below.

1) a core requests for data from an address in the PCIe memory address range.

2) request is sent to the System Agent, LLC, and the memory controller simultaneously.

3) System Agent identifies that the data is in PCIe and responds..

4) Data is fetched

Here is where I got stuck.

1. Would the data from my PCIe device get cached into the L1/L2 cache? If so, can it also get into the LLC?

2. Are there any notable differences in the data path from/to PCIe, compared to the path to/from the conventional memory controller? (e.g. reported bypass routes etc.)

Thank you and best regards,

Chinam

0 Kudos
4 Replies
McCalpinJohn
Honored Contributor III

Lots of special cases here....  The most important features that (appear to be) well-defined are: