Software Tuning, Performance Optimization & Platform Monitoring
Discussion regarding monitoring and software tuning methodologies, Performance Monitoring Unit (PMU) of Intel microprocessors, and platform updating.

Getting the per slice last level cache miss details

Dutta__Sankha
Beginner

Hi 

I am new to performance measurement using counters. I am using 7th generation kabyLake processor and I want to measure the LLC miss per slice for a portion of code very similar to as something mentioned in here. It mention of first setting the MSR for measuring LLC_LOOKUP and then read for each C-Box. So I was wondering if someone could give me some idea as to how MSR would be set and with what value to get he LLC_LOOKUP and then measure for per slice for the given processor. I am trying to use libpfc to achieve the above purpose. However, to me the method of gathering the measurement is not very important. Also I am not sure if any such counter is available for the processor I am using. So that would be helpful to know if I can use the methodology mentioned in the paper. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Thomas_G_4
New Contributor II

There are different ways to get to the counts. The examples are for Intel Skylake, it might be slightly different for Kabylake although the changes between Skylake and Kabylake are minor (for hardware performance monitoring)

- Like in the paper:
Get number of LLC slices (Bits 0-3)
# rdmsr 0x396
Stop all counting in all LLC slices
# wrmsr 0xE01 0x0
Configure LLC_LOOKUP event in all 4 LLC slices of Intel Skylake desktop chips (Bit 20 and 22 are user-mode counting and enable bit, 0x34 selects LLC_LOOKUP and 0x8f specifies "0x80: Any request , 0x1: modified state, 0x2: exclusive state, 0x4: shared state, 0x8: invalid state)
# wrmsr 0x700 0x508f34
# wrmsr 0x710 0x508f34
# wrmsr 0x720 0x508f34
# wrmsr 0x730 0x508f34
Now we need to start all counters (Bit 29 for unfreeze, 0xf: one enable bit per LLC slice