Software Tuning, Performance Optimization & Platform Monitoring
Discussion regarding monitoring and software tuning methodologies, Performance Monitoring Unit (PMU) of Intel microprocessors, and platform updating.

out-of-order (OOO) microarchitecture

cianfa72
Beginner

Hi,

I'm a newbie here so I've a basic question about microarchitecture supporting out-of-order execution.

Just to fix ideas consider the "simple" Intel Core microarchitecture (see for instance http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2006/04/core/3/). Core Execution core Reservation Station (RS) has 6 issue (or dispatch) ports used to issue microps (uop) for execution. In particular Port 3,4,5 are dedicated to issue Load/Store uops to the three Load Store units belonging to the execution unit.

Now consider the case in which RS issue a Load uop to the Load unit using Port 3. Latency to complete Load uop depends upon data availability in cache (L1/l2/L3) and in case of cache miss an (off-chip) memory access is needed (just to fix ideas suppose 100 clock cycles are needed)

In that interval of time (100 clock cycles) does Load unit remain stalled by that load operation or not ? If there is another Load uop stored in the RS buffer, can RS issue it towards Load unit using Port 3 on the next clock cycle ?

Basically the question try to understand if Load/Store units have a level of pipelining that allow to issue upos at successive clock cycles (regardless of the latency needed to complete each single load/store uop)

thanks 

0 Kudos
8 Replies
McCalpinJohn
Honored Contributor III

This is described in a couple of places....

The Intel Optimization Reference Manual (document 248966, latest revision 031, September 2015) describes several Intel microarchitectures in Chapter 2.   Figure 2-2 shows the Haswell microarchitecture, and you should note the box in the upper left quadrant labelled "Load Buffers, Store Buffers, Reorder Buffers" and the box in the bottom center labelled "Line Fill Buffers".