Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7552 Discussions

AX1675x 210NGW 6GHz Wi-Fi Connection Issues

HaynousT
Beginner

Hello,

I am a professional wireless network engineer troubleshooting an issue with a Windows 11 (version 22H2) laptop equipped with an Intel Killer(R) Wi-Fi 6E AX1675x 160MHz Wireless Network Adapter (210NGW) with driver version 23.20.0.4 (driver date Nov. 29, 2023), connecting to a Mist AP45 running firmware version 0.14.29132. The laptop connects fine to 2.4GHz and 5GHz networks, but does not probe or make any attempt to connect to my 6GHz network. It is a WPA3/SAE network transmitting at 17dBm from the AP using a 160MHz channel with primary channel 197. A promiscuous wireless packet capture reveals no probe or association request, while a working Pixel 8 probes, associates, and gets DHCP just fine from the same location for the 6GHz SSID. There are no other 6GHz networks in range and no congestion. Even less than 10 feet away from the AP, the SSID does not appear in the list. The laptop is an MSI GE66 Raider.

Please provide troubleshooting assistance for this issue and let me know what information you need from my side. I am a CWNE, CCNP, and ACMX certified wireless network engineer and can provide detailed information, packet captures, etc.

Note the following netsh output collected from the laptop indicating the presence of a colocated AP on channel 197:

C:\Users\Admin>netsh wlan show interfaces

There is 1 interface on the system:

Name : Wi-Fi
Description : Killer(R) Wi-Fi 6E AX1675x 160MHz Wireless Network Adapter (210NGW)
GUID : dc9707c4-b40f-4158-a6f9-5f07bda5cd79
Physical address : 28:d0:ea:3b:f7:f9
Interface type : Primary
State : connected
SSID : Ti
BSSID : ac:23:16:e9:e9:91
Colocated APs: : 1
BSSID: ac:23:16:e9:e9:81, Band: 6 GHz , Channel: 197
Network type : Infrastructure
Radio type : 802.11ax
Authentication : WPA3-Personal
Cipher : CCMP