Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7428 Discussions

Intel Utility & Win7 Diagnostics report different wireless adapters

JGibb1
Beginner

CONFUSION--Which Intel wireless adapter on my Inspiron 15 R???

My laptop is: Dell Inspiron 15R 5537 (Intel i5, 6 GB RAM, 500 GB Hd), Windows 7 SP1, still under warranty. It is on the same home wireless network with three non-Dell computers that have no connectivity or access problems. They are on a D-Link router. I was unable to use the laptop when new until after Dell replaced a defective touchpad. So, I am late to the party, and am a newbie here.

Like many other Inspiron 15R laptop owners, I have had daily random "limited access" notice disconnects.

In troubleshooting, I've now encountered a weird mystery: internal conflict as to which Intel wireless adapter is installed on my Inspiron 15R!

1. The built-in Windows network troubleshooter and "fixer" (offical name: "Windows Network Diagnostics") that runs on prompt after access fails ALWAYS identifies the installed wireless adapter as an Intel Wireless N - 7260, in accord with the Inspiron 15R specifications, and "Version 16.1.31."

2. Microsoft Windows 7's =SystemInfo.exe= concurs. It reports 5 NICs installed on the laptop, including an Intel Wireless N 7260 -- AND a "Blue Tooth" device.

3. Then I went to the Intel website to explore what troubleshooting options might be there for its wireless adapter. There was an option to have Intel sniff the laptop and identify the installed wireless adapter. Yikes! It identified the adapter as an Intel. Dual Band Wireless-AC 7260 Intel PROSet/Wireless Version 16.1.3.0! Different adapter, different version!