Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7368 Discussions

PC's Freezing on 5Ghz band WiFi

RS16
Beginner

Hello. I work in a school where we purchased 70 Dell Latitude E5430 laptops. Every laptop is the same (Core i7-3520M, 4gb RAM, Windows 7 pro). They also all have the Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 wireless card. Recently I've had several staff members (12-14 at this point) come to me with their laptops completely frozen. The only fix is to hard power them off by holding the power button down.

After booting up the computer and looking in Event Viewer I noticed that Event ID 5060 is spammed 2 to 3 times per second for a couple minutes right before the PC locks up, as you can see in the image below:

The Description for this ID is:

"The description for Event ID 5060 from source NETwNs64 cannot be found. Either the component that raises this event is not installed on your local computer or the installation is corrupted. You can install or repair the component on the local computer.

If the event originated on another computer, the display information had to be saved with the event.

The following information was included with the event:

\Device\NDMP5

Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6205

The specified resource type cannot be found in the image file"

In general it seems like they are only freezing when users are connected to the 5Ghz wireless band (rather than the 2.4Ghz band). I've spent countless hours on the phone with dell "troubleshooting" this issue. I've used multiple versions of the 6205 driver (v. 15.3.1.2 and v. 15.9.1.2). I've uninstalled the device and re-installed it several times. I've even completely wiped out the computer and installed a fresh copy of Windows. Dell seems to think it is a hardware issue and is Hell-Bent on replacing wireless cards and motherboards, but I find it hard to believe that the same hardware issue would strike all these machines at the same time.