Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7737 Discussions

When mobile hotspot is turned off, the BSSID list is not updated properly

symbol
Beginner

Hi All,

I'm a Windows developer working on a specific task for getting the list of BSSIDs.

In my investigation, it seems that there is no problem with the update when a mobile hotspot is turned on (the item will be displayed after around 20 to 30 seconds). However, there seems to be a problem if that mobile hotspot is turned off (the item will be removed at more than 90 seconds at least). Take note that the workstation is not connected to the mobile hotspot and is connected to another access point.

I verified this behavior in the workstation with the following specification:

OS Name: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro

OS Version: 10.0.19044 N/A Build 19044

Processor(s): 1 Processor(s) Installed.

[01]: Intel64 Family 6 Model 141 Stepping 1 GenuineIntel ~2304 Mhz

BIOS Version: Dell Inc. 1.13.0, 10/08/2022

Network Card(s): 3 NIC(s) Installed.

[01]: Killer(R) Wi-Fi 6 AX1650s 160MHz Wireless Network Adapter (201D2W)

Connection Name: Wi-Fi

[02]: VMware Virtual Ethernet Adapter for VMnet1

Connection Name: VMware Network Adapter VMnet1

[03]: VMware Virtual Ethernet Adapter for VMnet8

Connection Name: VMware Network Adapter VMnet8

I'm also trying to do it programmatically. I'm using this function from Microsoft for details

https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/win32/api/wlanapi/nf-wlanapi-wlanscan.

I tried to check with other forums, even with Microsoft ones but I didn't get any response.

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/73985886/wlan-bss-list-is-updated-very-slow-if-a-hotspot-is-turned-off

I'm seeking advise here to know if there is a faster way to get this updated list programmatically since it is indicated in the Microsoft documentation that: