Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7437 Discussions

Wi-Fi 6 AX200 Bluetooth causing WiFi to disconnect randomly

Lazy
Beginner

I've been using my Wi-Fi card for around 2 years now and when I have the cable connecting to the card / mobo for Bluetooth, the Wi-Fi will randomly disconnect. 

After trying various things from the intel forums, nothing worked so i went out on a limb and disconnected the Bluetooth. this was around 8 month and the Wi-Fi doesn't randomly disconnect anymore. 

I tried reconnecting the Bluetooth today and the random disconnects are back. I could really use the Bluetooth, so is there a fix for this?

Thanks. 

0 Kudos
10 Replies
n_scott_pearson
Super User

Just adding some detail for discussion...

Bluetooth and 2.4GHz wireless share an antenna. The other antenna is used for 5GHz wireless and, if exclusively using this band, wireless shouldn't play a role in Bluetooth disconnections.

...S

0 Kudos
Lazy
Beginner

Hi, thanks for the response, but, you have it the wrong way round, Bluetooth is causing Wi-Fi disconnections. 

It only happens when I have Bluetooth powered via the motherboard / PCI card cable. If I remove the cable, Wi-Fi is stable. If I attach it, Wi-Fi randomly disconnects. 

0 Kudos
n_scott_pearson
Super User

Same answer. If using the 2.4GHz band, then Bluetooth CAN interfere with Wireless in the same way that Wireless can interfere with Bluetooth. But, as I said, if you are using the 5GHz band for wireless, Bluetooth shouldn't interfere with it (frequency ranges are very well separated).

...S

0 Kudos
Lazy
Beginner

Again, thanks for the response, but I don't think you're understanding my issue. 
Ill be clear as possible this time. 

Bluetooth: when connected to the PC via power cable, works flawlessly. 

Wi-Fi: when using WITHOUT Bluetooth connected to the PC via power cable, works flawlessly.