Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)

regarding VTune call graph

blueplant
Beginner

Hi,

I'm new to VTune, I have sveral questions when I am using it, the application which I am testing is build by managed(c#) and unmanaged(c++) code and native code, I choose windows/linux profile and select call graph, after type the .exe file in the wizard and try to lunch it through VTune, it failed, at first the VS2008 was aotu launched but after severial seconds VS2008 crushed and got an error message(the error message is Runtime Error! Program:c:\\Progr...This application hase requested the runtime to terminate in an unusual way.please contact the application's support team for more information...) and another issue is that when I am trying to view the source of some .dllI always got the message saying "...line information is needed..." I did put the .pdb file in the same path as the .exe file...and the function name is messed up, but Iam able to view some of the other .dll's source. The third question is that, I use call graph to collect the data but every time after the running the activity I get many many .dlls some of these are not required for my analyzing, so I would like to know how to reduce the unnecessary dlls? Will it work it I check "no application to launch" then in the add to modules of interest list screen only add the the dlls which I need(is it necessary to add the .exe which will be launched manually also?), then launch the application manually? Can someone give the steps of how to do this? I'm really confused...Thanks a lot!

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Peter_W_Intel
Employee
Hi Pandaa,

Please see my answers again.