Analyzers
Support for Analyzers (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor, Intel Inspector)
4641 Discussions

vtune 2021 0x40000024(no data) error for hardware event based sampling

111alan
Novice
6,716 Views

Was testing some apps on an i7 11700K platform. Since the old parallel studio 2020 does not support this CPU any longer I installed the latest one-API. The problem is, the hardware event based sampling in all profiles stops working and throws a 0x40000024 no data error when finalizing. User mode sampling seems to have no issue.

The applications I'm trying to test work with older versions of vtune and cpu without a problem. And I've already updated the ME/chipset/serialio driver to the latest version listed on motherboard's vendor site(gigabyte Z590M gamingX). Any idea about what's the cause of this? Thanks.

0 Kudos
29 Replies
AthiraM_Intel
Moderator
5,035 Views

Hi,

Thanks for reaching out to us.

 

Make sure that VTune self check script is running fine to validate that appropriate drivers are installed and the system is set up properly to collect performance data. See whether its working fine and share the log.

 

The self-check file for windows “vtune-self-checker.bat” and for linux “vtune-self-checker.sh” will be there in the <vtune-installation-directory>/bin64 folder if the VTune installation was done successfully.

 

Could you please let us know which version of vtune you are using?

Also share the OS details.

 

Thanks.

 

AthiraM_Intel
Moderator
4,974 Views

Hi,


We haven't heard back from you. Could you please give us an update ?


Thanks.


111alan
Novice
4,965 Views

Sorry for the delayed response. Currently the platform is at another place, but I've confirmed that Cascade lake platform has no issue with new vtune(2021.2) on the same system. I'll ask my friend to check on Cypress Cove platform again for me. Thank you for your suggestion, I'll reply again when I have the results.

AthiraM_Intel
Moderator
4,931 Views

Hi,


Thanks for the update. We will wait for your results.


Thanks.


AthiraM_Intel
Moderator
4,871 Views

Hi,


Did you get the results? Could you please give us an update?


Thanks.


111alan
Novice
4,841 Views

Just assembled the Icelake-SP platform. Seems that no luck as well. I ran the self test and there's quite a few errors and warnings. Attached are the log file and the output of the script. 

Also I've installed and re-installed everything from Supermicro's motherboard driver page. The OS version is Windows10 20H2, vtune version is still 2021.2. Wondering what's not right here.

Thank you for your attention.

AthiraM_Intel
Moderator
4,794 Views

Hi,


Thanks for sharing the result.


Could you please install the latest version of Vtune (2021.3.0) and check whether the issue still persists.

You can download the latest vtune from the below link:

https://software.intel.com/content/www/us/en/develop/articles/oneapi-standalone-components.html#vtun...


If the issue still persists please let us know.



Thanks.


111alan
Novice
4,783 Views

Just tried it, most of the errors are gone, but "HW event-based analysis (counting mode)" still fails. The "Microarchitecture Exploration" preset can finally finish properly, but there are still some problems I encountered:

1. "MEM_LOAD_RETIRED.L1_HIT" seems to be missing in the final result chart.
2. If I add more event counters(namely MEM_LOAD_RETIRED.L2_MISS and BR_INST_RETIRED.ALL_BRANCHES) into the microarchitecture exploration preset, the "microarchitecture exploration" summary page will disappear. I remember in the old version adding more counters won't disable any feature.

3. A gui bug shown below.

Thank you.

111alan
Novice
4,758 Views

My friend just tested it on Rocketlake. Also some failures  detected, mainly no-data error. Here are the log and output.

AthiraM_Intel
Moderator
4,751 Views

Hi,


Thanks for the update.

We are checking on it internally, will get back to you soon.


Thanks.


Kevin_O_Intel1
Employee
4,723 Views

Can you run vtune_self_checker.sh >& log

And attach the log

Thanks


111alan
Novice
4,699 Views

Is this log only acquirable in linux version? If so I'll install a Ubuntu and try this. Thanks.

matthias-vigelius
4,716 Views

Hi,

 

not the original poster but I'm having the same problem. I'm running the latest version 2021.3 on i7-1165g7 (tiger lake).

Please find attached the log.

 

Thanks heaps!

Kevin_O_Intel1
Employee
4,685 Views

Can you verify you are using vtune 2021 update 3.... this is the latest version of vtune and should support your processor


matthias-vigelius
4,678 Views

Hi Kevin_O_Intel1,

 

I'm using version 2021.3.0, build 616728.

 

Thanks!

Kevin_O_Intel1
Employee
4,668 Views

You can run vtune-self-checker.bat on windows


111alan
Novice
4,667 Views

Then I already did, and the logs and script outputs are attached above.

Kevin_O_Intel1
Employee
4,571 Views

Can you zip and attach C:\Users\vigel\AppData\Local\Temp\vtune-tmp-vigel\self-checker-2021.05.25_14.13.45\

111alan
Novice
4,564 Views

Here, there's an additional txt inside for script outputs. Thanks.

matthias-vigelius
4,531 Views

Here you go.. Thanks for taking care of it!

 

 

Reply