FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6343 Discussions

ASI output IP - Easy to use?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, I am new to Altera solutions, but I was looking for an "easy way" to convert parallel TTL (even LVDS) to ASI Out. I found the ASI IP but I am not sure how easy it is to integrate, I mean, if it is "ready-to-use". Could anyone help me on this? 

Regards, 

Thiago
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

By ASI-out, you mean this video interface? 

http://www.tvtechnology.com/article/12126 

What IP are you referring to? 

I see you have not posted enough yet to be able to include links, but you could provide a little more information on the source of the IP. 

Do you have a board that has an ASI-Out interface? The article comments that it use 75-ohm transmission lines and is similar to SDI. The Stratix IV GX board has an SDI interface that uses external drivers interfaced to transceiver channels. Do you have something similar? 

Cheers. 

Dave
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

Sorry for the lack of info. Actually, what I need is to convert the parallel transport stream coming out of a digital tv demodulator into ASI. It should be very simple, 1 parallel In 1 ASI Out, maybe it is possible to use a very cheap FPGA. The ASI IP that I´ve seen only works with video conversion, or IP (Internet Protocol) bridge. I was trying to accomplish that using HOTLink from Cypress, but the FPGA is the correct way to make it work. 

Regards, 

Thiago
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Actually, what I need is to convert the parallel transport stream coming out of a digital tv demodulator into ASI. It should be very simple, 1 parallel In 1 ASI  

--- Quote End ---  

That is still not much information. 

I'm looking for things like; 

* I need to take a 3.3V single-ended 16-bit parallel data stream at XXX MHz