FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP

DDR2 without NIOS

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

in a project for my studies I am ask to get frames from vga port and to put them in a ddr ram: vert basic reading and writting in the memory. 

Is there an other simple way to use the ddr (including its initialization) then using NIOS ? 

I found some IP cores on opencores dot org but does not seems to be working. 

best regards  

trax 

--  

I am using de3 dev kit board
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You most certainly do NOT have to use NIOS. The DDR2 controller is just that, a memory controller. You can use it inside SoPC Builder if you want to take advantage of the Avalon Interconnect Fabric, or you can instantiate the controller yourself in HDL and interface to it directly. 

Jake
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Sorry, I am very new to altera technologies. When I use SOPC Builder and add a ddr ram controler it ask me to add a Avalon Master.  

All the demonstration programs use the NIOS II. Do you have any documents that could help me to do it without the processor? 

Best regards 

trax
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Well do you even need SoPC Builder? If you've only got one block that's going to interface to the DDR2 memory, you can just create the controller without SoPC  

builder. 

If you do want to use SoPC Builder, you'll need to create your own Avalon Master component. In which case these would be helpful: 

http://www.altera.com/literature/manual/mnl_avalon_spec.pdf 

http://www.altera.com/literature/hb/qts/qts_qii5v4.pdf 

Jake
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Well do you even need SoPC Builder? If you've only got one block that's going to interface to the DDR2 memory, you can just create the controller without SoPC builder. 

--- Quote End ---