FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6355 Discussions

FFT MegaCore Function

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am new in Quartus II and I need to implement a basic FFT using the MegaCore funtion. 

My FFT must have N = 64, streaming flow, 8 bits input and output. 

Can anybody help me? 

thanks
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Filipe: 

If you have the "Licensed" version of Quartus II, the FFT mega function is included. 

You just go through the megafunction wizard and state the number of points, bitwidths, etc, and it will generate the core for you. Then call it in your design. 

The biggest problem people have with it, is the handshake signals, (sop, eop, etc) not being what the core expects.  

If you are using the web-edition, I think you can purchase the FFT core license, but it may be cheaper to buy the licensed version of quartus. 

Pete
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Hi Filipe: 

If you have the "Licensed" version of Quartus II, the FFT mega function is included. 

You just go through the megafunction wizard and state the number of points, bitwidths, etc, and it will generate the core for you. Then call it in your design. 

The biggest problem people have with it, is the handshake signals, (sop, eop, etc) not being what the core expects.  

If you are using the web-edition, I think you can purchase the FFT core license, but it may be cheaper to buy the licensed version of quartus. 

Pete 

--- Quote End ---  

Hi Pete, 

Thanks for your help. 

Do you have any example to send me? 

My e-mail is: gutowimax@bol.com.br 

thanks again
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Unfortunately no:  

But should be able to generate it event with the Web version of Quartus: 

It should be located under the wizard is under tools/Megawizard plug-in manager/create/DSP/Transforms/FFT