FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP

Make own ip

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Is it possible to make own IP, Like Ethernet or CAN IP instead of purchase from semiconductor IP vendors ? 

If possible then how to do this ?
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Yes it is possible. Expect it to take a lot of man hours to produce though. 

Usually its cheaper to purchase the IP.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Sure, but i will be really troublesome

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

>>If possible then how to do this ? 

I will elaborate on the subject, as I have some experience. 

The anwer is - Of course you can, somebody has to do it. Check out www.opencores.org (http://www.opencores.org) for a list of open-source IP. 

Of note is: 

1) Most cores at opencores are designed to work with the openly specified wishbone bus, rather than Avalon. Creating a wrapper module to map Avalon signals to appropriate corresponding wishbone bus signals is usually straighforward. The code can be made into a SOPC component by using the SOPC component editor. This will take you some time to master all the details going on here. You should read and completely understand the Wishbone specification, and the Altera Avalon switch fabric specification. There is plenty documentation available.