FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6343 Discussions

NIOS TSE initialize

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Dear All, 

I am new in NIOSII and TSE. I use the Altera developemnt DK-DEV-4CGX150N for project development. I use the Qsys to build up my system and want to write some code to make the development board to TX some data to my PC. 

I use a sniffer program to capture the data TX to my PC. In my current situation, I cannot receive any data at the PC. My program flow is as below: 

1. Hardware reset the PHY. 

2. Initialize the phy (mdio address, change to RGMII mode...) 

3. Software reset the TSE 

4. Setup those FIFO threshold of the TSE 

5. Disable both shift 16 for TX and RX 

6. Set the TSE CMD config to enable the TSE 

7. Set the MAC address of TSE 

8. Set up SGDMA device and descriptor 

9. Send data to my PC. 

I reference to the examplet program in following thread to build my program. But still not work. 

"tse mac and marvell 88e1111

I attached herewith is a few files of my design for your refrence. 

I believe that the issue is due to the initialize process of my TSE and phy. Would any one provide some advice on it. 

Thanks for your kind help in advance. 

Best Regards, 

Albert Siu
0 Kudos
23 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The 88E1111 has a bug of reset, so You need to do a hardware reset for certain amount of time before initialization. E.g. do a running out 16bit counter. 

Also did You add proper commands for RGMII initialization in Nios? Take the file from example projects. It's called tse_my_system.c afaik.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

OriginallyI perfrom the hardware reset in the following way. 

1. Pull the reset pin of phy low 

2. sleep for 10 ms by usleep (10000) function 

3. Push the reset pin of phy high 

4. Initialize the phy 

I change to the following but still not work 

1. Pull the reset pin of phy low