FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6359 Discussions

PIO Interrupts PCIe

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

i'm a student from germany and new in this forum. I have found many answers to my questions, but i stuck on a problem. 

i have the 

Cyclone IV GX Transceiver Starter Kit  

and i'm trying to implement some simple PCIe Designs first, to get close with the PCIe and Driver writing stuff. I have implemented an PIO ( Output ) for the four LEDs on the Board and write a little Driver to access the LEDs, that worked fine. Next i integrated an PIO ( INPUT ) for the two switches on board. In the SOPC Builder i select "Synchronously Capture - Falling Edge - Enable bit-clearing for edge capture register" and "Generate IRQ - Edge", so i think i'm getting an IRQ on every switch push ( LOW Active ). I connected the irq line with the RxmIrq of the PCIe Compiler. 

My driver requests the Interrupt (request_irq as IRQF_SHARED) and is connected to a small IRQ Handler, which only counts the IRQs and returns IRQ_HANDLED, is see in /proc/interrupts my drivername. But there always stand 0, so no Interrupt comes across, and my Counter also not increments, so i think there really comes no IRQ. 

On the FPGA i set the AVL_IRQ Bit in the CRA ( 0x50) to activate the IRQs.