FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6356 Discussions

pipeline bridge bursting and clock crossing bridge fifo length

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I'm new to Qsys/SOPC Builder and I'm currently developing a Nios II system and have problems to understand what the effects and the dependencies of the mentioned features are. 

The Clock Crossing Bridge offers a FIFO length for Master-to-slave and Slave-to-master transfers. How can I determine the optimal setting of the FIFO length? Are there any prerequisites to setup the FIFO on the slave site for the different values or do higher values simply lead to more resource usage on the FPGA? 

The Pipeline Bridge supports burst transfers which can be enabled for the component. What would happen if I connected a slave which doesn't support burst transfers or which doesn't support the maximum number of burst transfers set for the Pipeline Bridge component? 

The typical settings seems to be that a fast component is connected to a Pipeline Bridge. The Pipeline Bridge is then connected to a Clock Crossing Bridge to which a slow component is connected: 

fast <-> pipeline bridge <-> clock crossing bridge <-> slow 

The Pipeline Bridge is not necessary but looking at the design examples it seems to be recommended to use one. Is there a rule for when to use a Pipeline Bridge? 

Sincerely 

Martin Stolpe
0 Kudos
11 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Larger FIFO depth will increase the on-chip memory utilization. If you increase the FIFO in small steps you might find the same number of RAM blocks are used. When you increase the command queue the read queue must be increased too since it'll need more support more posted reads in flight. Picking those depths is tricky since it's system depended, without knowing what you are doing I can't comment on it.