FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5915 Discussions

DE1 Audio Codec - Demonstration no sound

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi everyone 

I've a problem with the codec on my DE1 board: I've loaded the demonstration files, DE1_Default and DE1_Synthesizer and none of them gives any sound, not even the 1kHz sine wave. The only sound I get is a short loud noise when I press switch SW0. 

Any ideia what could be the problem? 

I'm afraid the codec chip could be fried and I've never used it before. 

Thanks.
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

What could you have done to 'fry' the codec chip?  

Try using a scope to access what signals you can. Are the digital signals present on the chip? Is there analog audio coming out?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

What could you have done to 'fry' the codec chip?  

--- Quote End ---  

I suspect the chip was fried from factory, or maybe poorly soldered to the board. I've done some verilog code to communicate with the chip and tried it but even assuming I made a mistake in the pin assignments for the FPGA I don't think that could destroy the chip.  

Do you think an error on the pin assignments could damage the chip? 

--- Quote Start ---  

Try using a scope to access what signals you can. Are the digital signals present on the chip? Is there analog audio coming out?  

--- Quote End ---  

None of the signals are available. Both the FPGA and Codec are BGA packages and none of the wires can be probed.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Sometimes you can probe vias or resistors if you have access to schematic and layout.  

I doubt incorrect pin assignments can damage your chip as Terasic would get a flood of development boards returned.  

You never really know until you probe out with a scope...
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---