FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
6007 Discussions

(FPGA configuration) How much time does Cyclone V GX FPGA take to read data from SPI flash device?

t_alars
Novice

Hello All,

I am totally new to this topic and my manager asked me to learn how much time the Cyclone V GX needs for configuration, to be available after power up. In other words how long Cyclone V GX takes reading data from SPI Flash device to be configured.

I went through all the datasheet and they give too much details that makes it hard for me to follow.

I just need the estimated time to configure the FPGA with SPI. I know there are different modes such as AS,PS and FPP. However, for me how can I know the required time?

Any suggestion would be much appreciate.

The datasheet I am following is here: 

https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/docs/programmable/683801/current/configuration-specifications.html

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
FvM
Valued Contributor III

Hi,
table linked in your first post shows 85 ms for C4, ASx4, 100 MHz. This is for uncompressed rbf, compressed rbf is smaller, depending on resource utilization. expect 50 to 90 % in typical applications. I would calculate with uncompressed configuration file size for the time being. 

Different clock frequencies (min, typ, max) refer to uncertainty of the internal clock generator. ASx1 has 1/4 throughput of ASx4, if you select fastest internal clock and calculate for worst case (minimal frequency), you end up with 85 *4 *100/42.6 =  798 ms.

View solution in original post

5 Replies
FvM
Valued Contributor III
Hi,
quite simple, you need to know which configuration scheme is actually used in your board. SPI means AS, but do you have AS×1 or AS×4 hardware, are you providing user clock 100 MHz or less, or relying on internal configuration clock?
t_alars
Novice

Hello @FvM ,

The answers to your questions as below: