FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

All, 

I am very new to the FPGA world and was wondering if someone would direct me in the right direction. 

I am looking for a suitable DevKit that I can use to learn more about program FPGA and also would like to implement algorithms for say monte carlo simulation, and option pricing. 

I would also, need to access data on the network? 

Can I develop on MacOs or is it strictly Linux and Windows? 

Thanks in advance for your time. 

Rohan
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

I am looking for a suitable DevKit that I can use to learn more about program FPGA and also would like to implement algorithms for say monte carlo simulation, and option pricing. 

--- Quote End ---  

Will you use fixed-point processing or floating-point? Floating-point will required a high-end board, eg., the Terasic DE4 

http://www.terasic.com.tw/cgi-bin/page/archive.pl?language=english&categoryno=13&list=simple 

--- Quote Start ---  

I would also, need to access data on the network? 

--- Quote End ---  

Many of the boards have network connectors, eg., Terasic DE2-115. 

--- Quote Start ---  

Can I develop on MacOs or is it strictly Linux and Windows? 

--- Quote End ---  

The synthesis software only runs under Linux or Windows. You can use VirtualBox to install Linux and then install the tools under that. You can then connect the Altera USB-Blaster to the virtual machine and program your board. 

I've tested VirtualBox versions of the Quartus tools under WinXP and Linux hosts, with WinXP and Linux VMs. They work fine. The only thing that does not work is that Win7 hosts do not release the USB-Blaster to the VM. 

The DE2-115 board contains a Cyclone-series device, so you can use the Quartus web edition synthesis software. The DE4 board uses a Stratix-series device, which requires a full-license for the synthesis software ($$$).