Intel® Business Client Software Development
Support for Intel® vPro™ software development and technologies associated with Intel vPro platforms.

Are vPro right for me ?

darez
Beginner
Hi all - I'm now of vPro technology and I'll sugget you to sorry me
if I'll write wrong think about vPro.

I'm a programmer, and I manage a network of 200 computer.
My problem is the installation of upgrade/patch on 200 computer.

The computer are used for 5-10 hours at days, and I can't work
because are in use from other people.

The question is:
what vPro can do for me ... ?

That I have understand is that vPro "install" a second OS, so If i install a patch
on "vPro" OS, that the PATCH will be applied at "real" OS.

How I can install a patch on remote pc without user interaction ?
I'm very newbie for vPro ...

darez
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Ylian_S_Intel
Employee

Hi Darez and thanks for your interest in vPro.

A computer that is labeled to be "vPro" meetsa set ofrequirements that make it especialy suited for office use. Generally, "vPro" machines don't come with 2 OS, but I am sure some corporations do setup there computers this way.

What you need is a management software like: Altiris, Avocent,BMC Software, CA, Farstone, Kingsoft,HP OpenView, LANDesk, Medialand, Microsoft SMS, StarSoftComm,or SyAM. These software are made to manage lots of computers, monitor them and send patches, etc. You will have to look at each one and the features they offer.

Of course, when you have a "vPro" system. These software can manage your computer better than is the computer is not vPro.

Hope it helps,
Ylian

0 Kudos
darez
Beginner
Ylian - thanks for your reply.
I'm a software developer and I manage my software house.

In order to build a 'next-generation' of our management software, i would
to know If vPRO is a right tecnology for our company.

I need to know more, because i want to extend our software and enable it
for vPro tecnology. I don't want to use external software o third party software