Intel® Business Client Software Development
Support for Intel® vPro™ software development and technologies associated with Intel vPro platforms.

vPro and wired 802.1x?

bri
Beginner

I am a network engineer looking to find out how vPro and the various virtual appliances that run on it are going to impact our plans to roll out wired (not wireless!) 802.1x protected ports.

Information that presents a person like me with an overview of what a vPro-enabled device behaves like on the network seems a bit sparse. From what I have read it seems there is a base hypervisor that remains resident in the NIC and communicates over a mutually authenticated channel to a controller.

What I need to know is whether that base hypervisor can be configured to perform 802.1x EAP authentication (and what flavors of EAP are supported) with the network switch, which it will need to do before any traffic is allowed into the switch ethernet port, and this will have to re-occur any time the network link is interrupted or there is a problem on the switch side.

It seems that it is safe to assume that were the hypervisor to be authenticated, any virtual appliances would not need to do so as they would be sharing network communications with the hypervisor?

In addition, the behavior of the device when the system is in soft-off or suspend-to-disk state is a bit murky. Is the hypervisor (and attached VAs) up and running, or does it use a wake-on-lan like mechanism to only run when a console requests interaction? If the latter, I would be interested in the technicals of that protocol from a network configuration perspective.

Pointers to HOWTOs or overviews that are more tuned to the network administrator's perspective would be very appreciated.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
fred29210
Beginner