Intel® Distribution for Python*
Engage in discussions with community peers related to Python* applications and core computational packages.

Latest intel python in conda

Lorenzo_0
Beginner

Hi everyone,

I am new to anaconda, so maybe this question is trivial. I followed the guide  to install the intel python package in the environment idp. When i execute conda list, it shows several packages from 2018, for example.

impi_rt                   2018.0.3                intel_0  [intel]  intel
intelpython               2018.0.3                      0    intel
intelpython3_core         2018.0.3                      0    intel
intelpython3_full         2018.0.3                      0    intel
ipp                       2018.0.3                intel_0    intel

If I execute conda update --all , it tells that all the packages are already installed. However, if I try to install in the base environment some of these packages,   I see that the installed version is

intelpython               2020.1                        0    intel

How can I update the packages in the idp environment?

0 Kudos
1 Solution
ChithraJ_Intel

Hi Lorenzo,

In essence, this is an issue that is user OS based rather than Intel-based one - IDP (Intel Distribution of Python)will install with the version it thinks is best for your computer based on your computer's native CPython version (if it is older, IDP will try to install with a older version, like version 2018). This does not occur with user OS systems that are inherently installed with newer CPython versions.

To fix the issue, I suggest the following:

1. Create a new and empty conda env : "conda create -n idp_new" [change idp_new to whatever name you would like]
  2. Do one of the following command instead to get the latest IDP version:
    1. "conda install -c intel intelpython3_full=2020.1" [will install IDP's latest version by specifiying it]