Intel® Distribution for Python*
Engage in discussions with community peers related to Python* applications and core computational packages.

Python and XEON Phi

Arne_S_
Beginner

Hello!

I haven't installed the Distribution for Python yet. Does anyone know if offloading from python to Xeon Phi coprocessor card is possible?

Background: I want to calculate the FFT of a 2 dimensional array with length of about 2**25 complex numbers many times. Then I have to multiply this array (in the frequency domain) elementwise with another array, then FFT back to time domain and multiply this with another array... and repeat this about 1000 times.

I am not an expert in C, so I would like to do this in python. Does anyone have a hint, if this is possible with this python distribution?

Thanks!

Arne

0 Kudos
14 Replies
Artem_R_Intel1
Employee

Hi Arne,

Look at pyMIC (I didn't try it by myself).

0 Kudos
gaston-hillar
Valued Contributor I

Hi Arne,

pyMIC will help you, as Artem R. suggests.

The only thing you have to take into account is that the latest version of pyMIC works OK with Linux, but it is still experimental in Windows. Thus, I suggest you working with Linux in case you want to use pyMIC. I've worked with it in Linux and it allows you to offload Python code to MIC.

0 Kudos
gaston-hillar
Valued Contributor I

Hi Arne,

You should definitely take a look at GT-Py, which is going to be launched in a few months. It has been recently announced and it can definitely help you in your future projects similar to the one you are mentioning. You can read about GT-Py here: http://software.intel.com/en-us/blogs/2016/03/22/gt-py-accelerating-numpy-programs-with-minimal-programming-effort

0 Kudos
Robert_C_Intel
Employee