Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ Toolkit
Community assistance about the Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ toolkit, OpenCV, and all aspects of computer vision-related on Intel® platforms.

Failed to initialize Inference Engine backend: AssertionFailed

Peeren__Christian

Dear all,

I just started playing around with the NCS2 and could fix a lot of potential pitfalls thanks to this excellent forum. Unfortunately, I'm currently struggling with an issue I couldn't resolve so far and couldn't find in this form. I'm using OpenVino v2019.1.144 and successfully converted my trained Tensorflow graph to IR using:

python3 mo_tf.py --input_model /modelpb/encoder.pb --input_shape [1,224,224,3] --data_type FP16

My custom model consists of a Keras and Tensorflow part, whereas the last layer is a Reshape layer.

Inference is run on a RaspberryPi3B+, so I copy the .xml and .bin to the RPI and run the following Python code:

import numpy as np
import cv2 as cv
# Load the model.
net = cv.dnn.readNet('encoder.xml',
                     'encoder.bin')
# Specify target device.
net.setPreferableTarget(cv.dnn.DNN_TARGET_MYRIAD)
# Read an image.
frame = cv.imread('/home/pi/projects/02_ncs_test/orange_89.jpg')
if frame is None:
    raise Exception('Image not found!')

# Prepare input blob and perform an inference.
blob = cv.dnn.blobFromImage(frame, size=(224, 224), ddepth=cv.CV_8U)

print(blob.shape)
net.setInput(blob)
out = net.forward()

The model is read successfully but unfortunately the program crashes with this message:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "run_ncs.py", line 18, in <module>
    out = net.forward()
cv2.error: OpenCV(4.1.0-openvino) /home/jenkins/workspace/OpenCV/OpenVINO/build/opencv/modules/dnn/src/op_inf_engine.cpp:747: error: (-215:Assertion failed) Failed to initialize Inference Engine backend: AssertionFailed: perm.size() == 4 in function 'initPlugin'