Intel® FPGA Software Installation & Licensing
Installation and Licensing that’s includes Intel Quartus® Prime software, ModelSim* - Intel FPGA Edition software, Nios® II Embedded Design Suite on Windows or Linux operating systems.
1153 Discussions

Cannot log into Intel self service license center to get a license for Questa starter Edition

GlennR
Beginner

I have recently installed Quartus-lite-21.1.0.842-windows on a new Windows 10 computer.   It automatically installed C:\intelFPGA_lite\21.1\questa_fse.   I was very careful to select only to install Questa standard edition.   I have never used Quartus or Questa modelsim before.

It is my understanding that you do not require a license to use these two programs.   They should just work.   Quartus does.  Questa_fse does not.

I got the following error while trying to run Questa while simulating my design.

========================================================================

C:/Users/nxa12668/quartus_prime_lite/workspace2/simulation/qsim/toggle_pin.do generated.

Completed successfully.

**** Running the ModelSim simulation ****

C:/intelFPGA_lite/21.1/questa_fse/win64/vsim -c -do toggle_pin.do

Unable to checkout a license. Make sure your license file environment variable (e.g., LM_LICENSE_FILE)

is set correctly and then run 'lmutil lmdiag' to diagnose the problem.

Unable to checkout a license. Vsim is closing.

** Error: Invalid license environment. Application closing.

Error.

=========================================================================

Next, I tried to get a Questa modelsim license from the intel website to self manage my license.   When I clicked on the following link, I got the following error message when I tried to signed in.

Link:  Developer Sign In (intel.com)

You may have been logged out or you do not have the necessary permissions to access this page.