Intel® FPGA University Program
University Program Material, Education Boards, and Laboratory Exercises
1174 Discussions

How to supress hierarchy optimizer for logic cells?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all! :) 

I'm a newbie here and in FPGA trips...:rolleyes: 

I'm trying to make a signal delay using AND ports and I'm having some difficult... 

At start, I need to delay a signal ~10ns, for that and to have good accuracy, I want to make it pass for several AND ports, that I has defined like as an entity "signal_ander" and instantiated in top-level entity as a COMPONENT. 

I have many instances of signal_ander chained, with SA1 output as SA2 input and so over (signal ->SA1->SA2->...->SA10)... 

when I synthesize that, its not work properly. 

In Technology Map Viewer, signal_anders are not in the same order that I define in code, it is divided in several parallel blocks chained, like: 

signal -> SA1 

........|-> SA2 -> SA4 -> SA7  

...................|-> SA5 ->SA9 -> SA10 

........|-> SA3 -> SA6 -> SA8 

How can I force Synthesizer or Fitter (I don'k know who make this) to keep the hierarchy in code? 

Thanks in advance and sorry my poor english... ;) 

# edit# 

I'm using Quartus II 9.1sp2 and DE20-70 board.
0 Kudos
13 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

anyone?? :D:rolleyes:

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I already have a answer but need 4 posts to include links, sorry the spam but it's for a good cause :P

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

one to go :cool:

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hey guys, 

After many hours and some smoke out of my head, I find a solution and I let here for future reference. 

1st place, I'm studying FPGA development about 1~2 months and I'm a beginner, don't believe in anything I say... :P