Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Case sensitivity in Fortran

Yadav__Geetanjali

Dear Members,

I am completely new to the Fortran. I have a very simple program for the Identity matrix. I want to know if Fortran is case insensitive?

The "N" in the subroutine is the same "n" used in the DO loop? 

SUBROUTINE IDENTITY(Mat, N)

IMPLICIT NONE

INTEGER, INTENT(IN) :: N

REAL*8, INTENT(OUT), DIMENSION(N,N) :: Mat

INTEGER :: i, j

!      Creates and Identity Matrix

DO i=1,n
         DO j=1,n
            IF (i .EQ. j) THEN
              Mat(i,j) = 1.0D0
            ELSE
              Mat(i,j) = 0.0D0
            END IF
         END DO
       END DO

Thanks!

0 Kudos
6 Replies
dboggs
New Contributor I

May I suggest you obtain--and read--a basic textbook or guidebook on the Fortran language. The question you ask is a very basic one, and if you continue to rely on this (or other) source for all such basic questions, you will be spending much more time than if you get it all in one document.

0 Kudos
Steve_Lionel
Honored Contributor III

To answer your immediate question, though - Fortran is not a case-sensitive language, so, yes, N and n identify the same variable.

0 Kudos
Yadav__Geetanjali

Thank you dboggs for your suggestion. I will definitely refer books for the basics.

Thank You Steve. Much appreciated.

Regards,

Geetanjali

0 Kudos
Roy_S_
Beginner

Hi Geetanjali,