Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Code Coverage Tool

Curran_K_
Beginner

I am an intern tasked to do code coverage using visual studio 2010 and I have installed a fortran compiler - w_fcompxe_2011.11.344 (11).exe - and have merged it with visual studio. According to my colleagues I am supposed to see a tab when I right click on a project file saying intel compiler and from there I can select Code Coverage and then select the phase. However this option is not present. Do I need to install another fortran compiler?

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
9 Replies
TimP
Honored Contributor III

Surprisingly, the official advertising document https://software.intel.com/sites/products/collateral/hpc/compilers/code_coverage_tool.pdf

is even older than your compiler, and apparently predates the introduction of Windows X64.

More detail, referring to a newer compiler than yours, but still an obsoleted one:

https://software.intel.com/en-us/node/512810

This document has been included in the compiler installation since it was written.

If you look in the documentation installed with your compiler, you should find

Using Code Coverage in Visual Studio*

The code coverage tool provides the ability to determine how much application code is executed when a specific workload is applied to the application. The tool analyzes static profile information generated by the compiler, as well as dynamic profile information generated by running an instrumented form of the application binaries on the workload. The tool can generate a report in HTML-format and export data in both text- and XML-formatted files. The reports can be further customized to show color-coded, annotated source-code listings that distinguish between used and unused code.

To start code coverage:

1. Select Tools > Intel Compiler > Code Coverage....

2. Specify settings for the various phases.

3. Click Run.