Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28381 Discussions

Copy an old vfproj or sln to a new project?

GWats1
New Contributor I

Sorry for all the silly questions. I've got a Fortran project .sln in VS 2017 that I am happy with and want to preserve as is.  I wanted to start with that solution (.sln or .vfproj) and do a Save-As so I can add some more code (see my other posts) to read some input data.

I am very new to Visual Studio and how it organizes projects, so is there a way to keep my old solution and start a new solution with the same files? I probably need to save the F90 file I want to add on to as a new F90 file so I don't corrupt it.

I did poke around the File--> New--> Fortran Project from existing code and tried to do it but the F90 files must reside in different locations because some did not come over.  

TIA

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Steve_Lionel
Honored Contributor III

Maybe. By default, the paths to source files are relative to the project file (.vfproj), but it depends on how you added them. I just copy the whole folder - that's really all you should need to do.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Steve_Lionel
Honored Contributor III

Maybe. By default, the paths to source files are relative to the project file (.vfproj), but it depends on how you added them. I just copy the whole folder - that's really all you should need to do.

0 Kudos
JohnNichols
Valued Contributor III

if you zip the whole folder system from the level above the sln file 

unzip it it will create a second directory called  program(2) which is identical and works to the old one and then modify to your heart's content or the Tincup Whiskey runs out. 

it is an easy way to save a copy if you are about to do something dangerous like ski at Breckenridge in a snow storm, or code Intel Fortran. 

0 Kudos
andrew_4619
Honored Contributor II