Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Fortran DLL built with Intel Fortran 2018 causes Excel to crash when accessed through a VBA wrapper function

avinashs
New Contributor I

1. I have been using a Fortran DLL for the past several years (10+) which contains several utility functions. These functions are called in Excel VBA code via wrapper functions.
2. The DLL has always been created using the default project settings except

Configuration Properties -> Fortran -> External Procedures -> Calling Convention: CVF(/iface:cvf)
Configuration Properties -> Libraries -> Runtime Library: Debug Multithreaded (/libs:static /threads /dbglibs)

3. When the DLL was rebuilt using Intel® Parallel Studio XE 2018 with Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2017 last week, opening an Excel file that accesses the DLL generates the following error and causes Excel to crash.

Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library
Debug Error!
Program: <Path to DLL>

Damage before 0x24DBE430 which was allocated by aligned routine

(Press Retry to debug the application).

4. I have tested the DLL within Fortran by using a Fortran main program to call the same functions and it works without error. Somehow, the rebuilt DLL is incompatible with Excel.

5. Further, I had saved a copy of the same DLL built with Intel Parallel Studio 2017. Excel is able to access the functions in the same DLL built with the earlier version.

6. So somehow, IPS2018 seems to be causing a problem.

Your help will be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
gib
New Contributor II

Have you tried building the DLL with Runtime Error Checking and Generate Traceback Information turned on?  These can be informative.  I use Custom and check the first three options.

Gib

0 Kudos
IanH
Honored Contributor II

There's not a lot to go on here.