Intel® Integrated Performance Primitives
Deliberate problems developing high-performance vision, signal, security, and storage applications.

IPP and multiple threads

bijoyjth
Beginner
Hello,

I am new to using the Intel IPP library and had a question on using the -N option to the performace utilities. I am trying to see how the performance of the libraries scales as the number of threads increases. I am trying this on a specific function and am using the ps_ippdcem64t tool. Does the -N control how many threads are spwaned and will use the function I specify with the -f option, or is the -N option used to control threading within the IPP libraries? Thanks in advance.

Bijoy.
0 Kudos
9 Replies
bijoyjth
Beginner
Quoting - bijoyjth
Hello,

I am new to using the Intel IPP library and had a question on using the -N option to the performace utilities. I am trying to see how the performance of the libraries scales as the number of threads increases. I am trying this on a specific function and am using the ps_ippdcem64t tool. Does the -N control how many threads are spwaned and will use the function I specify with the -f option, or is the -N option used to control threading within the IPP libraries? Thanks in advance.

Bijoy.

Apologies for replying to my own thread :-) .. but it looks like the ippSetNumThreads() is used to control internal threading within the IPP libs. How can I use the performance tools to measure performance of the IPP functions with multiple threads? Or do I can to write my own top level application which spawns multiple threads?

Thanks,
Bijoy.
0 Kudos
PaulF_IntelCorp
Employee
Quoting - bijoyjth

Apologies for replying to my own thread :-) .. but it looks like the ippSetNumThreads() is used to control internal threading within the IPP libs. How can I use the performance tools to measure performance of the IPP functions with multiple threads? Or do I can to write my own top level application which spawns multiple threads?

Thanks,
Bijoy.

Hello Bijoy,