Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.
1696 Discussions

[Beginner's Question] My simple program run 3-4times slower in multithreaded version - Please Help

sonkanit
Beginner

I try to port my current terrain engine to take the advantages of HT + dual core technology via multithreading. I am new to these topics and face a beginner's problem that you may help me in a very short period of time. I definitely need your suggestion. Firstly, I want to make sure that using multithreading in an appropriate way will give the better performance in such platforms. So I tried to write a very simple code that does nothing except generating a random color for each pixel. The result is very unacceptable to me. The single thread code is faster for 3-4 times on both HT and Dual Core. Here is the code snippest.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

Main Thread

-----------------------------------------------------------------

g_iFullWay = iWidth * iHeight;

g_iHalfWay = g_iFullWay /2;

DWORD dwThreadID;

HANDLE hThread = CreateThread(0, 0, DataThread, 0, 0, &dwThreadID);

for(int i = 0; i

{

for(int j=0; j<2000; j++) //This loop is only make it slower (Better comparation)

g_pDataBuffer = rand();

}

WaitForSingleObject(g_hCompleted, INFINITE); CloseHandle(hThread);

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Data Decomposition - Thread

for(int i=g_iHalfWay; i

{

for(int j=0; j<2000; j++)

g_pDataBuffer = rand();

}

SetEvent(g_hCompleted);

Your comments and suggestions would help me to understand the multithreading programming better. I would like to take those adventages but I have no experience in this topic. Your word will be an inspiration to me. Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
TimP
Honored Contributor III