Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.
1696 Discussions

Terrible OpenMP performance - a simple problem of overhead, or a sinister logic flaw?

masonk
Beginner
Hi there. First post. Just to disclaim this: I am a pretend programmer. I'm a biophysics researcher. But, I make use of the marvelous hardware and software that Intel provides in order to do biophysics, and that's why I'm here. I hope I'm in the right place.

I have here what I understand to be a relatively simple OpenMP construct. The issue is that the program runs about 100-300x faster with 1 thread when compared to 2 threads. 87% of the program is spent in gomp _ send _ wait() and another 9.5% in gomp _ send _ post (compiled with ICC). The program gives correct results, but I wonder if there is a flaw in the code that is causing some resource conflict, or if it is simply that the overhead of the thread creation is drastically not worth it for a loop of this size. The thing is, I have seen examples of much thinner loops that have been parallelized for a gain in online resources. This makes me think that there is actually a flaw in the code. As you can see, I have tried to privatize everything that I can. I've been using 2 threads to test this (on an 8 processor testbed). Oh, and I should mention that this program is already running in MPI on a different level of parallelization.
[cpp]		
		double e_t_sum=0.0;
		double e_in_sum=0.0;

int nthreads,tid;
		[/cpp]

[cpp]		#pragma omp parallel for reduction(+ : e_t_sum, e_in_sum) shared(ee_t) private(tid, i, d_x, d_y, d_z, rr,) firstprivate( V_in, t_x, t_y, t_z) lastprivate(nthreads)
		for (i = 0; i < c; i++){
				nthreads = omp_get_num_threads();				
				tid = omp_get_thread_num();

d_x = V_in.x - t_x; 
				d_y = V_in.y - t_y;
				d_z = V_in.z - t_z;

rr = d_x * d_x + d_y * d_y + d_z * d_z;

ee_t = energy(rr, V_in.q, V_in.q, V_in.s, V_in.s);
					e_t_sum += ee_t;