Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

Word tearing on Intel Prozessors

hulgo
Beginner
Recently I learned about word tearing in threaded programs and that it can occur on alpha processors. But what about Intel chips?

Is there a guarantee, that word tearing cannot occur on Pentium SMP architectures?

I tried to force the error on my Pentium III Dual Processor machine, but it did not occur with the little test program:
http://www.pontohonk.de/example/threadtest.C

Can anybody give me a hint to appropriate documentation about this problem on Intel processors?
0 Kudos
12 Replies
tomp
Beginner
I'm no expert but it seems that a guarantee against word tearing for a specific processor would be difficult if not impossible to issue. It seems that it would not only depend on the processor but also the compiler. Here's a quote from an article I found on a Google search:

"...given a multithreaded program that has been compiled to have longword actual granularity, if any two of the program's threads can concurrently update different bytes or words in the same longword, then that program is, in theory, at risk for encountering a word-tearing race condition. However, in practice, language-defined restrictions on the alignments of data may limit the actual number of candidates for a word-tearing scenario..."

There's some good background information where I found this if others are as unfamiliar with this condition as I am.

I'll keep looking around to see if there is an architectural reason this can't occur on Intel processors.
0 Kudos
Henry_G_Intel
Employee
For anyone unfamiliar with word tearing, here's a good explanation taken from David R. Butenhof's book, Programming with POSIX Threads: