Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16556 Discussions

Can I write, compile and simulate VHDL code by using only modelSim?

TarikTec
New Contributor I

I just started learning using Quartus Prime Standard and I find it taking too much time each time I want to modify the VHDL code in Quartus ,then compile then simulate using the modelSim.

is there a possibility of Using only in the development phase the ModelSim while I can modify the TestBench and the Source code on the same window?

0 Kudos
1 Solution
sstrell
Honored Contributor III

Unless you're doing a gate-level simulation that requires device timing delays, you don't need to compile in Quartus at all before running a simulation in ModelSim.  Quartus can generate simulation scripts for you (for compiling in Modelsim, setting up the waveform view, etc.), but you don't even need to do that.

At a minimum, you might want to run Analysis & Elaboration in Quartus to verify syntax and connectivity, but other than that, you don't need to compile any further before simulating.

View solution in original post

5 Replies
sstrell
Honored Contributor III

Unless you're doing a gate-level simulation that requires device timing delays, you don't need to compile in Quartus at all before running a simulation in ModelSim.  Quartus can generate simulation scripts for you (for compiling in Modelsim, setting up the waveform view, etc.), but you don't even need to do that.

At a minimum, you might want to run Analysis & Elaboration in Quartus to verify syntax and connectivity, but other than that, you don't need to compile any further before simulating.

Kenny_Tan

you may take a look on this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o2KDwNN5-yw as well.

Kenny_Tan

any further queries?

TarikTec
New Contributor I