Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16593 Discussions

Conbinational group instead of regestered group

VitPri
Beginner

Hi all,

I am new to FPGA and Quartus and just truing to work with it. I am using Quartus Prime Lite edition 22.1. on Win 10.

I write a sample module with 3 always block doing just simple stuff. As counter variables I assign reg[7:0] r_cnt...

but after 3 variables  all other reg[] suddenly becomes combinational groups instead of registered like it was before so that u_cnt,b_cnt,l_cnt are regestered group  and b_bit become combinational group and all variables that I am creatine going into combinational groups.

How one can fix this issue?

Here is the code:

module controller (

input clk,
input las_en,
input Rx,

output reg las1,
output reg las2,

output reg u_clk

);

reg[15:0] u_cnt;
reg[5:0] b_cnt;

reg[5:0] l_cnt;
reg[7:0] d_bit;

reg l_flg,Rx_flg;

reg[7:0] dat_in;

initial begin u_clk = 0; l_flg = 1;Rx_flg = 0; las1 = 0; b_cnt = 0;bit = 0; dat_in = 0; end

always @(posedge clk) begin // lasers pulse control

if (las_en & l_flg) begin
    las1 = 1; las2 = 1;
    l_flg = 0;
end

if(l_flg == 0)l_cnt = l_cnt + 1;

if(l_cnt == 25) begin
   las1  = 0; las2 = 0;
   l_cnt = 0;
    l_flg = 1;
end

end

always @(posedge clk) begin // UART clk

if(Rx==0) Rx_flg = 1;

if(Rx_flg) begin

u_cnt = u_cnt+1;

if(u_cnt== 109) begin u_cnt = 0; u_clk = ~u_clk; b_cnt = b_cnt + 1;end
     if(b_cnt== 18 )  begin b_cnt = 0; Rx_flg = 0; end

end

end

always @(posedge u_clk) begin

bit = bit + 1;
dat_in[bit] = Rx;
if(bit==10) bit = 0;

end

endmodule

0 Kudos
12 Replies
FvM
Valued Contributor III