Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16603 Discussions

Does anyone run Quartus on CentOS?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi - I've been running Quartus on CentOS since 2005, but I recently ran into an issue and was told tersely by support that CentOS is not supported, and no effort will be given to doing so. That was a surprise to me - is this a recent thing? Did Intel buy stock in RedHat :-). I can cough up the $349 for a RHEL license, but really? Is that what everyone does now? 

Thanks! 

/j
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello Jeff, 

I suspect that there are too many distributions of Linux to support them all. That said, I use Quartus on Ubuntu with only the odd driver configuration issue. 

Best wishes, 

J
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello 

I am running Quartus 17.1 lite on Ubuntu 16.04. 

Only issue I have is that NIOS II EDS / Eclipse does not run. Is there anyone who successfully runs NIOS II EDS on Ubuntu 16.04 or Centos 7?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Hi - I've been running Quartus on CentOS since 2005, but I recently ran into an issue and was told tersely by support that CentOS is not supported, and no effort will be given to doing so. That was a surprise to me - is this a recent thing? Did Intel buy stock in RedHat :-). I can cough up the $349 for a RHEL license, but really? Is that what everyone does now? 

Thanks! 

/j 

--- Quote End ---