Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16558 Discussions

External Memory Interface IP on Agilex.

Big_Al
Novice

Hi, I am new to Quartus Prime Pro. I have instantiated a external memory interface in a Qsys design for an Agilex part. I have also generated the example design and simulated it. Looking through the associated data sheet,  I can't find any description of how to use it! It has an avalon interface (AMM) plus a few other descrete signals (Lock, reset request etc). It is the use of the avalon interface which is not documented. I can't beleive it is just a memory mapped interface, ie you provide the DDR4 address on the avalon bus and read/write the data in this fashion, but maybe it is. It is impossible to say from the user guide or data sheet. It looks like I am missing some documentation. Having said that I have sat through hours of videos on the EMIF. I have designed Xilinx emifs before and all the information required to drive them was in the data sheet. So it looks line I am missing something, but I can't see what.

So anyone who knows how to drive the emif, please put me out of my mysery.

0 Kudos
14 Replies
Big_Al
Novice

Having looked at the simulation, it appears there are no transaction on the aMM interface from the TG2. It is not clear from the documentation how to stimulate the TG2 to perform any transactions. It does say it should perform 1 transaction after power-up., and that this could be made infinite by chaging a parameter. That did not seem to work either.