Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16603 Discussions

FIFO Outputs all HiZ in RTL Simulation

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi All, 

I am still a beginner to FPGAs, but I think I'm making good progress. I am able to simulate my own Verilog code in ModelSim-Altera and everything looks correct. 

However, when I try to simulate an Altera Megafunction (DCFIFO in this case) all of the outputs are always HiZ no matter what inputs I give. I have done a lot of searching but I haven't come across anything which solved my problem. All of the other threads I found usually conclude with "Add the libraries", but I have done that. The code compiles fine. I'm running the simulation with "vsim work.sync_fifo -L altera_mf" 

Output screenshot is attached. 

After looking into the generated code it seems like the Megawizard just generates wrappers. How do I get the actual internals to simulate? 

I also understand the during synthesis a lot of optimization happens. Outputs which are not depended on by the rest of the design get removed. But if I am simulating the module directly, this should not happen, correct? 

Thanks
0 Kudos
20 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

From the attached waveform, it seems you have tied the FIFO reset signal to one. I think its reset signal is active-high; If so, drive it with '1', and after a few clock cycles drive it with '0'. 

More over, issue some write request signals, so that something would be written into it.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

What did you put in the testbench? It looks like there is nothing more than a clock and a reset stuck at 1

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II