Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16656 Discussions

How does signal routing work in Platform Designer(QSys)

frank2597
Novice

Hello,

I am developing software for the DE10 Nano board and i am new to working with Platform designer and had some questions to better my understanding. I am working with a golden reference design that's provided by Terasic for learning purposes. The project pretty much blinks 7 leds and the number of times it blinks is determined by C code from the HPS side. 

The name of the platform design file is called soc_system.qsys and within there i am making use of an ip called custom_leds_0 whose implementation is in the file called custom_leds.sv. The ports for custom_leds_0 are shown below:

module custom_leds
(
    input  logic        clk,                // clock.clk
    input  logic        reset,              // reset.reset
    // Memory mapped read/write slave interface
    input  logic        avs_s0_address,     // avs_s0.address
    input  logic        avs_s0_read,        // avs_s0.read
    input  logic        avs_s0_write,       // avs_s0.write
    output logic [31:0] avs_s0_readdata,    // avs_s0.readdata
    input  logic [31:0] avs_s0_writedata,   // avs_s0.writedata
    // The LED outputs
    output logic [7:0]  leds
);

In platform designer the inputs for custom_leds_0 are shown below:

frank2597_0-1687724849833.png

frank2597_1-1687725273344.png

The routing of signals is described below:

clk_0.clk -> custom_leds_0.clock

clk_0.reset -> custom_leds_0.reset

mm_bridge_0.mo -> custom_leds_0.avs_s0

fpga_only_master.master -> custom_leds_0.avs_s0