Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16556 Discussions

How to make communication between computer and Quartus using Python?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi,  

I am very new to this tool Altera Quartus, but i need to build the design that i need to give command from the coumputer to PC through Python. So, my question is how to build the design in Altera Quartus.  

If any example design, please share me. It will be helpful for me or please guide me to build this design.
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

If you have the Quartus executable file in your PATH, you can simply do the command : 

os.system('quartus_sh --flow compile <quartus_project_name>.qpf') 

You must generate your project with quartus UI a first time to have the <quartus_project_name>.qpf file. 

Regards, 

Jerome
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Hi, 

If you have the Quartus executable file in your PATH, you can simply do the command : 

os.system('quartus_sh --flow compile <quartus_project_name>.qpf') 

You must generate your project with quartus UI a first time to have the <quartus_project_name>.qpf file. 

Regards, 

Jerome 

--- Quote End ---  

I don`t have any file. Just i am going to build the design with Ethernet concept.  

MY design flow as follows 

1. Going to give command from computer through Python 

2. Quartus should receive that command and should generate the signal (using Cyclone V FPGA). 

How to build in Quartus ? Whether i need to use Qsys or NIOS Processor ? Please explain me with steps. :(
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II