Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16606 Discussions

Open IP Core SOF download question

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am a newbie working on a project with the NIOS 2 /f soft core processor using the (Open Core Plus) Quartus II Web base 12.1 edition and the Nios II Embedded Evaluation Kit, Cyclone III edition. Since I am using the Open Core, my USB-Blaster needs to be connected to the kit and the time limit warning dialog box needs to be remain open, when I try to NIOS2-Configure-sof the SOF in the console or using the Quartus Programmer to configure the FPGA. My problem is I can't do nios2-download with my software zImage if the USB port remains open. Is there a way I can download my zImage while my SOF is running? 

thanks in advance for any help, 

-Yeung
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Could you clarify "I can't do nios2-download with my software zImage if the USB port remains open." ? I never had any problems using nios2-download while the opencore evalutation window was open.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I first use the Quartus II programmer to configure the sof on to the FPGA, and a dialog box with title "OpenCore Plus Status" appear "Time remaining: unlimited". I left it open. Afterward, I use the console to program the flash, "nios2-download -g zImage.initramfs.gz" Here is the error message I got: 

Using cable "USB-Blaster [USB-0], device 1, instance 0x00 

Pausing target processor: not responding. 

Resetting and trying again: FAILED 

Leaving target processor paused 

I tried with nios2-flash-programmer --base=0x00000000 --erase-all. Same error message. 

Thanks in advance if you any idea what I did wrong. Please let me know if you need more info. 

Thanks, 

Yeung
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II