Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16595 Discussions

Preserve root partition in a debugging scenario

RDuca
Beginner

Hello,

I am just beginning to use block-based design and I am starting to experiment in this scenario: I have a design with a malfunction located in a block but not yet identified ; I would like to be able to recompile only this block with minor source code changes, while leaving the rest of the design unchanged. I am not using SignalTap yet but I might have to in a more advanced step.

I read the instructions in this page but everything is not fully clear to me. I set up as partition the block I want to recompile several times as I hoped I would be able to preserve the root partition in further compilation iterations. It turns out that I cannot set the preservation level of the root partition. I went on to paragraph "1.5.2. Reusing Root Partitions" and thought I might simply compile the root partition, export it and import it as a .qdb file in the same project. I have some questions about this:

• Is it absolutely necessary to define a logic lock region for the core partition?
  • If yes, is it absolutely necessary to set the "Size/State" parameter to "Fixed/Locked"? Ideally, I would like to let Quartus do the fit itself the first time, and then reuse the selected location on a chip.
  • If yes, what are exactly the limitations concerning the "origin" parameter in the logic lock regions? I tried to retrieve a location used in the already compiled design for that block, found through chip planner, and set X108_Y118 as origin (device is 10AX066H2F34E1HG) but Quartus tells me that this location is "not a legal origin for a logic lock region".
  • Finally, am I using the right method or is another method more suited to my objective?

Thank you for your time.

Regards,

--

RD

0 Kudos
3 Replies
sstrell