Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16609 Discussions

RTL Simulation of Simple AND Gate Error?

AAlmo3
Beginner

I am using Quartus II Web Edition ver. 13. I am just starting out. I am trying to simulate the following VHDL code:

-- Copyright (C) 1991-2013 Altera Corporation -- Your use of Altera Corporation's design tools, logic functions -- and other software and tools, and its AMPP partner logic -- functions, and any output files from any of the foregoing -- (including device programming or simulation files), and any -- associated documentation or information are expressly subject -- to the terms and conditions of the Altera Program License -- Subscription Agreement, Altera MegaCore Function License -- Agreement, or other applicable license agreement, including, -- without limitation, that your use is for the sole purpose of -- programming logic devices manufactured by Altera and sold by -- Altera or its authorized distributors. Please refer to the -- applicable agreement for further details.   -- PROGRAM "Quartus II 64-Bit" -- VERSION "Version 13.0.0 Build 156 04/24/2013 SJ Web Edition" -- CREATED "Fri Feb 08 14:19:36 2019"   LIBRARY ieee; USE ieee.std_logic_1164.all;   LIBRARY work;   ENTITY test IS PORT ( b : IN STD_LOGIC; a : IN STD_LOGIC; f : OUT STD_LOGIC ); END test;   ARCHITECTURE bdf_type OF test IS       BEGIN       f <= a AND b;     END bdf_type;

When I run an RTL simulation, I get the following output:

RTL Simulation Simple AND Gate Error.PNG

As a close-up of the waveform,

RTL Simulation Simple AND Gate Error (Closeup).png

You can see that when b = 1 and a = 0, f = 1. What??

This has also been a problem in my course lab with a slightly more complex circuit. The code seems fine but the RTL simulation is not matching up.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
MuhammadAr_U_Intel